Friday Finds, Favorites and Fotos!

Has it really been a week since the 4th of July?!  Why is it that time during the summer FLIES by??  I mean think about it… in Feburary, what’s supposed to be the shortest month of the year, the week drags by.  And yet the 3 months of summer seem to go by in a flash.  Such a mystery to me… nonetheless I hope you all had a great week!  Here’s what I’ve got for you today:

Finds

Last week as we were getting ready to spend time at the campground with my parents and be outside all evening waiting for fireworks on the 4th of July, I realized that I hadn’t made bug spray this year yet and the one from last year was all gone.  I ran to the store to grab the essential oils that I would need and instead decided to try this out:  Suzi’s Lavendar Bug Off Natural Insect Spray.  It’s made not far from here and all that’s in it are water and 3 of the main mosquito repellant oils: lemon eucalyptus, lavender and citronella.  I normally like to make my own, but in an attempt to save a little time I decided to give it a try.  I bought a bottle of clove oil (because that’s another good mosquito deterrent) and after adding a couple of drops of that in, I had my spray!

DSCF6099

 

Not only did I feel good knowing this spray was safe to use even on M, but it worked great!!!  We were camping, outside all evening and our whole family used it and no one got a single bite!! YAY!

Favorites

So I’m mildly obsessed with guacamole recently.  I blame it on my brother.  He used to live with us and went through a guacamole phase right before he moved out so he was always making it.  Well I guess I got hooked because now I am the one making it.  It’s super easy to make, goes great on wraps, salads or just as a dip and it’s pretty healthy for me, right?! 🙂

Here’s what I use: avocado, green pepper, jalapeño, onion, tomato, garlic, cilantro, lime juice, salt & pepper.  You can add however much of each ingredient you want – just as long as avocado is the star! 🙂  Yummy!

Fotos

IMG_0978 IMG_1010 IMG_1015 IMG_1027

(Top left: ready for a walk to the park!  Top right: CHEESE!!!)

(Bottom left: she loves these things!  Bottom right: 1st time at Tropical Sno!  “Love it!”)

Updates:  In the last couple of weeks she’s started being able to put on her own pants/shorts/pull up diaper.  She can officially count to 14, sometimes 15.  She can carry on a full conversation with you.  And the other day we caught her singing the whole “Itsy, Bitsy Spider” song to her baby while making the baby do the actions!!!! So cute!

Have a wonderful weekend!  As I used to say to my students: Stay safe & Make good choices! 😉

Signature

Leave a Reply

